Blu and Exile : Below the Heavens

 

Excuse my lateness but…I stumbled upon this album while looking for some similar artists of one of my favorite rap duo’s of all time, Little Brother.  After reading a solid HipHopDX review I decided I had to check it out.  This is my new dude.  Blu’s flow, a combination of smooth/constant delivery and melodic chemistry, and Exile’s soulful production is on point.  Check out the track Dancing in the Rain.  

I got in my car and bumping the second it came on.  The LA mc rips through verses about his life and what he feels around him.  The subject matter is something only tight flow could flourish under.  It reminds me of Illmatic (good company) in the way Blu’s lyrics are like he is talking to you, not stuff crazy abstract or anything.  I like that it doesn’t get to complicated, which is the only problem I have listening to Lupe sometimes.  Overall a sign that proves indie hip-hop is still alive and well.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

